Tags

, , , ,

Every September, I have an ongoing tradition of taking part in the Terry Fox Run (Minus these 2 years since I’ve been away for school). I started 7 years ago, and I intend to make it a life long tradition. Initially, I signed up because of two main reasons: a.) Money raised goes towards Cancer research/funding and b.) It’s an excellent form of exercise; and initially, the latter reason was the primary one. However, a couple years ago, a new reason emerged. Dedicating the run to someone who was in my life… and to all the people out there who are currently suffering from cancer.

It was so sudden. It just came out of no where, and no one expected that it would happen to him. I’ve literally known him since I was a baby. He was so brave. So strong. So grounded in the Lord. He was always, even after he was diagnosed with cancer. It’s amazing how in times of sadness and suffering, God can provide that foundation and be the light at the end of the tunnel when you think darkness is the only thing enveloping you. Instead of seeing his diagnosis as a “negative thing” in life, he believed that it was something God had given him to spread the word. And that was exactly what he did. He remained strong. And he succeeded. He passed the finish line with flying colors.

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith‘ (2 Timothy 4:7).

So when I feel like my legs are giving in on me, and I feel like I can no longer jog anymore, I remind myself that I’m not doing it for myself, but for all the other people out there.

…I’m doing it for you, James. I miss your smile. I miss your laugh. I miss your jokes. I miss -you-… You will forever be remembered. And you will forever be with us in our hearts.

And for everyone out there who is fighting… don’t give up hope nor faith. Stay strong!

