Tags

, ,

If I knew what I know now, would I have done anything differently? Absolutely. But that doesn’t mean that I regret where I am today. If I knew what I know today, perhaps I would have some answers to those endless “what if’s” that I’ve always had in the back of my mind. Perhaps I would have been more willing to explore new paths, like the paths less taken. Perhaps I would take more risks, to not be afraid of plunging in, head first.

If I knew what I know now, I would have savored every last second of my childhood. To tell myself that I don’t need to grow up so fast, to enjoy the fact that my parents bug me about small things, because they are worried about me, and they only want the best for me. To realize that life is more than just school and homework, but to enjoy the beautiful sunshine, and just breathe. That there is more to life than just school, and getting that perfect A on my report card.

If I knew what I know now, I would realize that it’s okay to cry. Everyone needs an outlet sometimes. That showing all sides of my emotions, vulnerable or not, is okay. That it’s okay to make mistakes. Just learn from them. That instead of focusing on negatives, to rather search for that one positive aspect which could turn things right side up again.

If I knew what I know now, I would have treasured every person who was in my life, because you never know what tomorrow might bring. To never waste a single second with people you love. To laugh more. To love more. To live more.

And most importantly, if I knew what I know now, I would tell myself that it’s okay to stumble. It’s not the fact that you fell down, but to realize that you have to get back up again, and start from where you left off. It happens. Life isn’t life without it’s little tumultuous times. Because without them, you wouldn’t realize how good the good actually was.

But of course, we can never go back in time. And if I knew what I know now, I wouldn’t be who I am today. It is because of the not knowing that got me here today. And I don’t regret it. But of course, now that I know what I now know, it’s never too late to apply these things to the person who I will become tomorrow.

