Tags

, , ,

This time coming up to Red Deer, there was one essential thing that I did not bring. My rice cooker. At home, I pretty much eat rice every night. My grandma keeps asking me what I eat up there since I don’t eat rice. Well, my dinner and lunch pretty much consist of the same thing- pasta and sandwiches. Oh, and the occasional fish here and there. I honestly can’t recall what other foods I’ve had. But last night after going grocery shopping, I decided to switch things up a bit this week. I told my friend that after our national exam, I was going to switch and become a Masterchef. And who wouldn’t prefer cooking over studying anyways? On tonight’s menu was- quinoa stuffed tomatoes

I came home today at 4:45 and started to get my ingredients together. I told myself that if it wasn’t going to taste good, at least it would look the part. So the ingredients I used were:

  • Tomatoes (emptied out but keeping the inside for the stuffing)
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • parsley
  • basil
  • onions
  • sundried tomatoes
  • lemon juice
  • lemon zest
  • salt and pepper for taste

It’s pretty simple to make, but somehow it took me all the way up until 6:15. Anyways, I made the quinoa first (boil it with water; turn down the heat to low and cook for 15 minutes and then let it cool for 5 minutes and then fluff it with a fork). Then in another pan, combine oil and onions and cook until brown. Then add the tomatoes and some parsley and sundried tomatoes and the lemon juice. Add this into the quinoa once you fluff it and then stuff your tomatoes and pop it in the oven for 20 minutes or until the quinoa starts to brown. And ta da! It’s not the prettiest picture, but it’ll just have to do. I had two stuffed tomatoes and was it ever filling! =). Bon appetite! Now… for tomorrow’s dinner… I think it’ll be chicken! Until then, happy eating! =)  

