Tags

, , ,

It’s ironic how yesterday’s post was talking about ‘A rice alternative’ because tonight, I had rice. I just couldn’t resist. Sadly, it was my first time cooking rice in an actual pot (vs. the usual way of doing it in a rice cooker). I also had long grain rice, which I find is even better than my traditional Rooster brand rice (shh, don’t tell). Anyways, so what was tonight’s dish? Balsamic vinegar chicken over rice and avocado, sundried tomato salad.

For the salad: 

  • Lettuce
  • Avocados (I absolutely love avocados in my salad now!)
  • Sundried tomatoes
  • Dressing (olive oil + lemon juice)

 

 

Then for the chicken, the original recipe was for steak. So here were the ingredients that I mixed together in a ziplock bag and marinated the chicken with:

  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Olive oil
  • Dijon mustard
  • Basil (crushed)
  • Cloves of garlic (minced)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Sugar

So, altogether it makes this! The chicken/rice dish was perfectly blended with the light lemon juice dressing of the salad, which had the rich, creamy avocado. Yum! Unfortunately, I have no left overs to have for tomorrow =(. That’s the sad part of my day. The good part? My dinner was a success and it’s definitely a recipe keeper! =)  

