Tags

, , ,

I must admit, I am never one for making eye contact on the street for fear of being flagged down by a random stranger. I think the thing to go to now is technology- look down at the your phone and pretend to be busy away texting someone… or having earphones plugged in and pretending that you weren’t able to comprehend the busy-ness around you.

Right from the beginning today, I knew that it wasn’t going to be the ordinary, mundane day of my regular schedule. The bus came on time, however, it took the wrong turn, and of course, because there were so many other people on the bus, I decided not to verbalize this mistake to the driver, despite the fact that I was sitting at the front. I felt kind of bad for that actually. Once again, bystander effect. Why me when all the other people on the bus could tell him too?

After work, there was an incident that must have evolved at the c-train station which led to the appearance of multiple police cars and police on the platform. And as I boarded off the c-train and walked towards my grandma’s house, I was encountered by a grandma who asked me for help. As usual, I was very reluctant to help, let alone to just stop and listen to her story. Why me? I asked myself. However, I decided to hear her story and turns out she was encountered by 3 women who asked her to take out money or else something horrible would happen to her son. Yes. You hear about these “foolish” stories all the time. But the sad part is, people do fall for them. It’s one thing to hear about them, but I guess it’s something different when you’re truly faced in that situation of having to deal with it. And let’s just say that things didn’t go so well for her. I was hesitant to help because a.) I didn’t really know what I could help her with and b.) I truly didn’t know what I would be getting myself into. But really, I think sometimes just hearing them out is a way of helping. I ended up trying to go to the police with her and turned out the closest one was not very close at all. I ended up calling the police, and unfortunately, after 30 minutes of waiting in the cold with an empty stomach and a painful leg, the woman decided against waiting any longer. She appreciated the help, said that it was one very expensive lesson learned, and made her way back onto the train to go home.

Today at work wasn’t the greatest, and I’m just one of those people who dwell on things that simply don’t go the way I intend and blame myself for it and wonder if there was something else I could or should have done. And with these instances, it definitely didn’t help lift my spirits any more. However, I am proud of myself that I didn’t let ‘the bystander effect’ take a toll on me for the last incident. I felt that at least I did my due diligence in trying to help the lady… so yeah.. today definitely was not the typical day that I experienced.

