Tags

, , , , , , ,

If one could consider a life as a book, then another chapter of mine has been completed. I cannot believe that about a year ago, I was just a little shy of a month coming out from school and working in a rural city with no friends/family to really call “home” to. But luckily I landed a job back in Calgary and 10 months later… I’m placed in a similar position…. stressing to figure out what to do, now that this position has come to an end. Time sure flies. These 10 months, stressful or not, have finally wrapped up, and I must say, it’s been a good run.

At the beginning of it all, I used to absolutely dread Mondays. The anticipation of going into work and seeing tens of names written in that agenda for me to see that day was awful. And of course the fact that it was just Monday and that I would have to endure another 5 days until I could scream out “yay! Freedom!”. However, I can say that towards the end, it wasn’t so bad after all.

I’ve met some amazing people who I’m grateful to call my colleagues. They have put so much time and effort into moulding me and mentoring me. We’ve all shared our stresses and “problem children” stories that seem to haunt us every time we hear their name come up. But nonetheless, I’ve enjoyed the time spent working with them. Although I feel that I don’t really know a lot still… I reflect back on these 10 months with all the situations that I’ve been through, and I can’t help but give myself a pat on the back. The thing that surprises me the most is this: not only have a grown more as an occupational therapist, but that I’ve indirectly been shaped as a person as well. And yes, I must say thank you to those “problem children” because without them, I wouldn’t have grown and learned. It’s amazing how we are creatures of society. The people who we interact with inherently help us to learn and grow. I’ve learned that silence is also a form of therapy; to simply open your ears and listen to the words coming out, without interrupting them with your own words. I’ve learned that your personality, like a simple smile, can make a huge difference into a person’s life. I always say to patients, If I made you smile, then I’ve done my job for todayHowever, little do they know that they’ve just made mine with their smile alone. I’ve learned to appreciate the beauty in each person’s story… they each have such a unique background and regardless of what their medical history is, the fact is this: everyone is different. And I’ve come to appreciate the uniqueness of each person and because of it, I’ve realized more and more each day that I love to work with people (especially seniors!!!). Their smiles, hugs, and wonderful comments just melt my heart.

Although I’m nervous because of the uncertainty of what my future brings, I’ll just enjoy the time off that I have! And yes, I have a trip booked for next month to look forward to! Hello, Hong Kong! Here I come! =)

 

 

 

