Tags

, , , , ,

In a world that’s always on the go, it’s sometimes really hard to slow down. It doesn’t help either when there’s pressure from above the chain of hierarchy pushing you to get things done in a quick manner.

Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been working with this patient, who is nothing but wonderful. He truly is the epitome of the sweetest patient- he always comes down with a big smile on his face and keeps telling us how wonderful of a job we are doing. The truth was… when I first realized he got transferred to my unit, I really kind of sighed knowing that he was a heavy 2 to 3 person assist with standing. He made little progress and truth be told, I didn’t know what to do with him. He pretty much had no where to go in terms of rehabilitation programs because no one would accept him. I just kind of went with the flow and two weeks later, we managed to get him to a one person minimal assist today!!! I think that pretty much made my week already. I couldn’t help but smile and feel so proud of him. For everything that he’s been through.. he never once gave up hope and when we were  just about to think that little progress could be made… he made me retract that thought.

I think he really put things into perspective for me – although I work in a world of acute care, I realize that I shouldn’t dismiss something as ‘impossible’ and go straight to things like “I think he needs to go to long term care”. Despite the fact that there were times where I did give up hope… he never did. Instead, he only thanked us for all of our hard work and just seeing that big smile on his face and hearing his stories… made me crack that smile and realize that I needed to take the small things into consideration.

Making people smile is pretty much one of the biggest highlights. And it makes me realize how I shouldn’t easily give up nor should I doubt myself.

