Tags

, , ,

photoThis week I was proactive and started to make a list of what I was going to make for dinner over the next few days. Today was a pretty productive one indeed. My aunt who’s from Hong Kong is vegetarian and she taught me how to make a simple dish. Actually, my grandma used to make it in the past, but I guess I never really took on a liking for cooking until now. So here it is! Hope you all like it.

Ingredients:

  • Bean curd paper (I’m not quite sure if this is what it’s actually called, but you can find it in the asian supermarkets)
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Soy bean curd (they come in little squares at the supermarkets near the tofu section)
  • Chinese mushrooms
  • Canned bamboo shoots
  • Vermicelli

All you really have to do is when you get the bean curd paper, it comes in a two or three circular sheets. Just take them out, fold them, and cut them into sections. If you’re not using it right away, you can actually freeze them. Then the night before you decide to make the rolls, just take them out of the freezer and put it in the fridge to defrost.

Then cut up all your ingredients into tiny thin strips. You really don’t need a whole lot because a small piece of paper roll doesn’t carry a lot. For example, I rolled 12 and I only used one of each (i.e. 1 carrot, 1 celery stick, a couple mushrooms, 2 packs of small vermicelli, etc.).

Once you’re done cutting up all the ingredients, fry it in a pan. Now you’re ready to fold! Just remember to keep the papers nice and wet because it will get dry. Just put something damp on it to ensure it’s moist up until you fry it. Once you’ve wrapped it all, it’s now to fry it. Make sure that the oil is super hot though before you try to put the rolls on the pan. You simply have to fry it a couple minutes on each side and they’re ready to be served! It’s a little bland since I just added a little salt and soy sauce, so I decided to dip it with sweet and sour sauce!

